Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on google
Share on linkedin

News: Demigodz Prep Official Debut LP, Killmatic, To Be Released On 3-5-2013


It’s been over a decade since Demigodz took the Hip-Hop world by storm with the release of there Godz Must Be Crazy EP in 2002. That EP resulted in the group being courted by a slew of major labels and would eventually result in Apathy inking a solo-deal with Atlantic Records. While signing to Atlantic as a solo artist may have seemed like a bad deal for group, Apathy readily assures it only strengthened the Demigodz’ relationship. “I know people would probably assume that’s wack, but Celph and I were completely fine with it. We’re like Redman and Method Man, or Ghost and Rae, we’re partners no matter what. Celph was worked into the contract and was happy, because he didn’t really wanna make that jump yet, but we do stuff regardless, so it was a perfect scenario,” says Apathy.

In the resulting years that have passed since Demigodz first emerged, Apathy and Celph Titled have undeniably carved out their respective places as solo-artists (both as emcees and producers) as Apathy has released a slew of legendary mixtapes and LP’s (including Eastern Philosophy in 2006, Wanna Snuggle in 2009 and Honkey Kong in 2011) and has worked with a virtual who’s who list of artists: Mike Shinoda (Fort Minor/Linkin Park), Alchemist, Pete Rock, DJ Premier, B-Real, Xzibit, Phonte and Slaine among many. Apathy, also joined forces with Scoop Deville and Ryu to form the Get Busy Committee in 2009. After the release of The Godz Must Be Crazy EP, Celph Titled was enlisted to help Linkin Park’s Mike Shinoda craft the block-buster debut of Fort Minor (The Rising Tied 2005) which was released on Shinoda’s Machine Shop imprint on Warner Brothers and which was also executive produced by Jay-Z. Celph then joined Fort Minor on their world tour in 2006 before releasing his debut LP, Nineteen Ninety Now, with legendary producer Buckwild in late 2011.

While Demigodz have undergone some personnel shuffling since the Godz Must Be Crazy EP was released, in November 2011 Apathy released a new, appropriately entitled Demigodz track, “Demigodz Is Back,” which also served to announce the crew’s intention to create new material and also highlighted the crew’s new and now completely settled roster (Apathy, Celph Titled, Ryu, Esoteric, Blacastan & Motive). Now the crew’s reaffirmation is complete, as Demigodz will release there first official LP, KILLmatic, on 3-5-2013 and their future is even brighter then there past “Demigodz is for true, hardcore hip-hop fans. This KILLmatic album was made to reflect that. We always try to keep it grimey, dirty, creepy, spooky and fuc*ed up. DJ Premier gave us an incredible classic. I’ve been in Demigodz since 1993 (20-years). If you could take a time machine back into the past, and show the 14-year old Apathy, what beats DJ Premier was gonna give me; I wouldn’t have believed it, I feel truly blessed” Apathy states.

Tracklisting and credits for Demigodz “KILLmatic” LP:

1.) Intro (Giants On The Earth) [Produced by Apathy]
2.) Demigodz Is Back (ft. Apathy, Ryu & Celph Titled [Produced by Apathy]
3.) Dumb High (ft. Apathy, Motive, Esoteric, Celph Titled & Open Mic) [Produced by Apathy]
4.) Never Take Me Out (ft. Apathy, Celph Titled & Termanology) [Produced by Teddy Roxpin]
5.) Just Can’t Quit (ft. Apathy, Celph Titled, Motive, Blacastan, Ryu & Scoop Deville) [Produced by Apathy]
6.) Worst Nightmare (ft. Apathy, Ryu, Blacastan, Esoteric, Motive & Celph Titled) [Produced by DJ Premier] ***cuts by DJ Premier
7.) Can’t Fool Me (ft. Apathy, Blacastan, Esoteric, Motive, Celph Titled & Eternia) [Produced by Apathy]
8.) DGZ x NYGz (ft. Apathy, Blacastan, Celph Titled & Panchi of NYG’z) [Produced by Chumzilla] *** additional vocals by DJ Premier
9.) Dead In The Middle (ft. Ryu, Celph Titled & Apathy [Produced by Apathy]
10.) The Gospel According To… (ft. Celph Titled, Esoteric, Motive, Blacastan & Planetary of Outerspace) [Produced by Skammadix]
11.) Raiders Cap (ft. Apathy, Ryu, Motive & Celph Titled) [Produced by Apathy]
12.) The Fallen Angels (ft. Apathy, Motive & Celph Titled) [Produced by Apathy] ***cuts by Chumzilla
13.) The Summer Of Sam (ft. Apathy, Blacastan, Esoteric, Motive, Ryu & Celph Titled) [Produced by The Snowgoons]
14.) Tomax & Xamot (ft. Apathy & Esoteric) [Produced by Will C.] ***cuts by Chumzilla
15.) Captain Caveman (ft. Apathy, Celph Titled & RA The Rugged Man) [Produced by Teddy Roxpin]
16.) Audi 5000 (ft. Apathy, Celph Titled, Motive, Ryu, Esoteric & Blacastan) ([Produced by Marco Polo] ***cuts by Chumzilla


Sign up for VIP content!

Receive audio and video content exclusively to your inbox by signing up for the DEHH newsletter.

Comments are closed.

More Articles.

Follow Dead End Hip Hop:

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter