My Twitter Feed

September 18, 2014

Blog:

Your Old Droog – Secondhand Gunsmoke -

Thursday, September 18, 2014

Willie Green – A Suite For Souled People EP -

Thursday, September 18, 2014

Lupe Fiasco – Pu$$y (ft. Billy Blue) -

Thursday, September 18, 2014

Album Stream: Busdriver – Perfect Hair -

Thursday, September 18, 2014

Mixtape: Lil Bibby – Free Crack II -

Thursday, September 18, 2014

Mixtape: QuESt – Searching Sylvan -

Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Jeezy – Holy Ghost (ft. Kendrick Lamar) [Remix] -

Wednesday, September 17, 2014

ScHoolboy Q – Studio (ft. Nas & BJ THe CHicago Kid) [Remix] -

Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Mixtape: Lil Kim – Hard Core 2 -

Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Rick Ross – Elvis Presley Blvd. (ft. Project Pat) -

Wednesday, September 17, 2014

EP Review: Milo – ‘things that happen at day’

1732926511-1

The delicate balance between personal/musical growth and nostalgic familiarity is always at the mercy of fans and critics. Loyal listeners want to have their attention maintained through innovation, or at the very least improvement, yet don’t want to be alienated either. Although with an MC like Milo, peculiarity plays a conscious role in the philosophical nerdcore sub-genre he occupies. Obscure cultural references and ambiguous social commentary suddenly make a word like “alienated” appear trivial in the context of Milo’s music.

On the new EP things that happen at day, Milo’s progression as a rapper is present with a vastly improved flow and production teeming with atmospheric beats and serene soundscapes. From the very first track, “sweet chin music (the fisher king’s anthem),” the energetic lyrics are delivered with a gusto that showcases a happier Milo then the typically apathetic one we’re used to. The stripped down beat and tranquil sampled vocal compliment the refreshingly optimistic disposition he takes on for the track.

The following track, “almost cut my hair (for Crosby)” continues that initial optimism with Milo uncharacteristically spitting the aggressive line “Here’s a game I no longer find entertaining/ Seeking validation from internet strangers/ I’ll two-step across your carcasses” which juxtaposes with a line on his last project: “I’ve never pressed a tape to a laser disc/ But I still managed to make Nerdcore Now’s list/ You may have seen me on theneedledrop.” This drastic shift in the irrelevancy of other people’s opinion from Milo is quite significant and one that makes for better music because, contrary to traditional hip-hop mentality, Milo will forever adhere to the balance of modesty vs. arrogance.

By the time the song ”folk-metaphysics” hits, self-deprecation resumes position at the helm of Milo’s paradoxical battle between himself with the proclamation of several goals that can’t help but remind me of a New Year’s Resolution list; perhaps it is the early year release and scribbling noise permeating the back ground that proposes the idea. The contradiction arrives at the doubtful chorus of the song with Milo confessing “I don’t make promises I can’t keep/ Which is why I don’t make promises ever” even though he made many promises to himself in the prior verse. As the EP continues a bipolar Milo humors a back-and-forth approach to his euphoric, ambitious side and the existential, cynical counterpart. The sporadic nature of Milo’s psyche may be unorthodox, but that’s the very thing that makes his music so human and relatable.

things that happen at day is as unapologetic as it is stoic. Milo continues to fuel his music with his own insecurities and perspectives but does so with no shame. The production is as subtle yet conscious as the lyrics are inconsistently honest. Milo is definitely growing as an artist and a person but the point at which that growth is condemned by the personal uncertainty that serves as the foundation for his music remains to be seen.

  • thafunkmonk

    This stuff is great, a very awesome way to kick off the year.
    I think that I prefer the more atmospheric beats from the Night EP even more because Milo sounds just so amazing over them.
    it’s like he’s speaking out loud in this vast space where no one seems to be but him. This is great music to think about and just let everything else fade away while you’re listening to it.
    One major gripe, like theneedledrop already mentioned, are the hooks though, especially the Kitty Pride one on ‘Cut My Hair’ (at least on the Day EP, the ‘post hoc ergo propter hoc’ is a completely different story).
    The anti-catchiness of the songs makes it a hard decision to decide whether you really want to listen to it while doing something else.
    Is the going to be a review of the Night EP too?

    • Nazeeh

      I agree we’re only half way through the first month of 2013 and all this great music is coming out.
      And for me the music was so enjoyable I didn’t mind the hooks. Especially the Kitty Pryde one because it was such a random thing to put in a hook.
      Yeah Femdog is reviewing the things that happen at night EP.

  • http://sharksalad.com/category/music/ Bendo

    Although I enjoyed the commentary, albeit a little vague in some parts, I didn’t glean any type of “review” in this article. More like psychology 101 as you neglected to get into the musical and artistic aspect of this EP.. In other words, I’m reading a lot of analysis of Milo and not enough of the entertaining value of the music itself.

  • Bendo

    yo did you just delete my comment critiquing this article?

    • http://www.kennithbinge.com Kinge

      No it wasn’t deleted, it just needed approval before it goes live to the public. It’s used to control spam. Any comments moving forward from you will no longer require approval and will go live. Thanks for reading!

      • Bendo

        Ah, Ok thanks for the clarification. Yeah I noticed the “approval” notification as soon as I posted my second comment.